Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 7th, 2009

My oldest daughter has just launched my new BEAUTIFUL blog…I cannot thank her enough for all her hard work!  As she told you earlier you will need to go here and change your bookmark!

I am so excited!  Let me know what you think of the new look!

Read Full Post »

Moving on up

Hi everybody! This is Jessica, Susan’s oldest daughter.

We are in the process of moving Mom’s blog to new hosting (with a new design!) . For the most part this should be a painless process for everyone but a couple of things to keep in mind:

  • Because we are moving her to independant hosting, notquitejunecleaver.wordpress.com will no longer be used. So if you are using that address for any links, bookmarks, or feeds those will have to be updated. However, if you are using notquitejunecleaver.com, you should be fine as soon as the domain has had to time to repropagate.
  • I have already done a final export of all the posts and comments here, so any comments hereafter will not make it to the new site. However, as far as I know, Mom will still be getting the email notices, so if, for some reason, you just can’t wait and don’t mind it not showing up on the new site, feel free to comment.
  • If, for some unforeseeable reason, you are still getting this website when trying to go to notquitejunecleaver.com at the end of the weekend, please let us know.

I think that’s it, if you have any other questions or concerns, you can find Mom’s email address by clicking on the Email tab at the top of this page.

Read Full Post »

This upcoming is a very VERY special week for me.  It is the week of my 50th birthay.  Next Friday at 3:11 p.m. I will be 50 years old.  Five decades.  Half a century.  18, 262 days.  Admittedly, I am pretty stoked about it.  One little problem.  My husband will not be home (imagine my very sad face) but we will celebrate when he gets back. My gift from him will be here about the time he is.  I know what it is, not a surprise, something we have talked about for quite a while,  but WOW what a great gift!

POL-HG8008

Pretty cool huh?  Okay…enough of all that.

Now to the recipes. If you can’t find the answers to any questions you might have on the Friday Baking page (tab at the top) then please email me.  The deadline for getting your name in for this past week’s challenge is 8 am today. I decide to post only one recipe this week.  My favorite cake.  I thought we could all  celebrate my birthday with a great cake…one big PAR-TAY!!!

Italian Cream Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour 3 (9 inch) or 4 (8 inch) round cake pans.

  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 2 cups all purpose flour or 2 cups plus 2 TBSP cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 2 cups coconut
  • 5 egg whites, beaten stiff
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Cream sugar, butter and shortening. Add egg yolks and mix well. Mix flour, salt, baking soda in a bowl. Add this flour mixture alternately with the buttermilk. Mix well. Add vanilla, pecans and coconut. Mix well. Then gently fold in egg whites. Divide evenly between your pans. Bake for 25-35 minutes. Cool in pans 10 minutes then turn out on a rack to finish cooling. Frost when completely cool.

Frosting:

  • 8 ounces cream cheese at room temp
  • 1/2 cup butter at room temp
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 pound confectioners sugar

Beat cream cheese and butter until light. Add vanilla and mix well. Add confectioners sugar a cup at the time and when all in incorporated beat on high until light and spreading consistency.

ENJOY!!!




Read Full Post »