Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 18th, 2009

On this already very warm Thursday morning I am still thinking about gardening and the responses to my post about it.  I didn’t approve all of them.  For several reasons.  The main one being I don’t have to.  I love the fact that people think they know you from a blog and then fain complete and utter disgust at the moment they realize you are not just exactly like them. I had the audacity on MY blog, to mention MY political views.  And not even in any detail.  The nerve I have.

I received several nasty little notes, that I deleted.  But rest assured I am thoroughly scorned and scolded.   See here is the crux of the matter.  While not everyone who reads this blog  lives in America, I do.  I exercise our right to free speech every day by what I listen to and watch and read.  And certainly what I say and write.  And as much as I see and hear, I am still shocked at some people’s reaction to anyone they disagree with.  If I go to a blog and find that the author is of a different opinion than I am on anything, I don’t begin to entertain the thought that I might leave a comment about how ignorant that blogger is.  Or how misinformed they must be.  Or what a bad person they are for believing or thinking the way they do.  I may not agree with them, in fact I may vehemently disagree with them, but I respect their right to their own opinions and thoughts.  WOW what a concept huh?

If you come here often, you know I am not prone to political or religious discussions.  In fact I purposefully do not let myself go there.  That is not what this blog is about.  It is about homemaking and gardening and the love of aprons and overalls and family and food.  I have yet to see a benefit to arguing with strangers about politics OR religion.  It only upsets both parties because I believe if you are willing to spend your time arguing, your mind is fairly made up and who I am to even care what you think or believe?

There are only a few things that make my blood truly boil.  Two of them being injustice and intolerance.  And following closely in third place is rudeness.  Those three “qualities” in a person are all-telling.  Some people just have no manners what so ever.  When you visit someone’s blog, it shows intelligence and a good upbringing, to be able to control yourself enough not to leave rude, snippy comments.  If you disagree with them, then excuse yourself, just as you would in real life, retreat to your own corner of the World Wide Web and go on about your own business.  It also shows an abundance of good character to be able to find a common ground and over look differences.  I think the world we live in, the news we hear, the wars, the strife, the suffering is evidence enough of what lack of character and a bad upbringing can do to people.

My opinions are just that, MINE.  For those that are sorely disappointed in my views on things, well, I would like to say I am sorry but I don’t like to lie.  I honestly don’t care.  No more than you should care what I think of your opinions.  It is nice to find something in common with people.  And since this is not real life, this is our cyber life we have on display here, it should be even easier.  I completely believe this: People who are put off, offended, verbally abusive to others with differing views on things such as religion and politics are a bit lacking in the security of their own beliefs.  If you are certain you are right, then that’s that.  Unless you have an emotional investment in the person who disagrees with you, it is in everyone’s best interest to be mature about it and afford that person the right to be wrong in your eyes.

All I could think yesterday and this morning when I read some of the comments I was left was : “WOW, if they really knew me, they might blow a gasket!” AND “Oh, what people in their real life must endure if they don’t live up to the expectations! ”

Oh well, enough of all that.  Back to the gardening thing.  If we EVER get any rain, I am going to plant my pumpkins.  I am anxious to get them in the ground, yet I know how tender and delicate young sprouts are so I don’t want to get over zealous and put them out too early.

000_0219[1]

I have my notes made, my cards written an my little garden map finished.  Now to actually get them planted!

I will leave you with one final thought for today, since this IS Thoughtful Thursday.

“What is a friend? I will tell you. It is a person with whom you dare to be yourself. Your soul can be naked with him. He seems to ask of you to put on nothing, only to be what you are. He does not want you to be better or worse. When you are with him, you feel as a prisoner feels who has been declared innocent. You do not have to be on your guard. You can say what you think, so long as it is genuinely you. He understands those contradictions in your nature that lead others to misjudge you. With him you breathe freely. You can avow your little vanities and envies and hates and vicious sparks, your meannesses and absurdities and, in opening them up to him, they are lost, dissolved on the white ocean of his loyality. He understands. You do not have to be careful. You can abuse him, neglect him, tolerate him. Best of all, you can keep still with him. It makes no matter. He likes you. He is like fire that purges to the bone. He understands. You can weep with him, sin with him, laugh with him, pray with him. Through it all – and underneath – he sees, knows and loves you.

A friend? What is a friend?

Just one, I repeat, with whom you dare to be yourself.”

~ C. Raymond Beran ~

Personally, I hope I am that kind of friend.

OH and remember to get your recipes posted…new ones tomorrow!

Read Full Post »