Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 22nd, 2008

You folks have no idea how long and hard I have tried to motivate myself to finish even ONE of the 12 cookbooks I have outlined.  NO IDEA!  I think maybe nearly 1o years now.  Good grief.  Anyway apparently it might be another 10 before I am finished.  I get really angry with myself because I really, really want to finish them and I can’t seem to get to the end.  And then of course move onto another set.  I have gone thru titles and themes and back again.  No I have not been diagnosed with any sort of disorder.  Not that I don’t have one, or five, but I have not been diagnosed.  It isnt that I expect to ever be rich and famous or have my own cooking show or a real publisher.  But I would like at least one of those things.  A publisher.  But, frankly, I am not even to the point that I could send in an inquiry.  I would however, like to finish them for posterity’s sake.  I have so many, many recipes that I know when I am gone, my children will want.  Wish for.  Need.  I know there are so many things I would love to make if I had taken the time or had the foresight to ask for the recipe.  My mom,  aunts and grannies and great aunts and great grannies took so much knowledge to their graves.  I don’t want to do that.  This whole weekend I spent reflecting and grieving and thinking, made me even more anxious to “get ‘er done.”

As you may or may not remember we call our little house Rose Cottage.  Shouldnt you name your house?  I thought so too.  Anyway,  I have so much of A Year at Rose Cottage written, only to get side tracked and start a series I hope to complete one day…eventually.  I have much of  NotQuiteJuneCleaver Bakes a Pie! written.  Yeah…I have changed the name a half dozen times, but this has a ring to it don’t you think? I know what I want it to look like.  I have all the recipes together.  I just have to keep testing them, retesting them, proofing them, reproofing them.  And then what?  I don’t know.  Print out a hard copy and send it in.  Send it in where?  I don’t know.  Or just make a copy for each of my kids and call it a day.  Or a decade as the case may be.  Then maybe go on to NotQuiteJuneCleaver Makes a CakeNotQuiteJuneCleaver Bakes Cookies! NotQuiteJuneCleaver Bakes Bread! Sit Down to Supper with NotQuiteJuneCleaver! NotQuiteJuneCleaver Celebrates!

I guess I feel I can share these dreams and ideas with you and you not think I am any crazier than you did before you read this post.  So I will keep plugging along…que sera, sera.

Oh…and in honor of Pie Day tomorrow (come on bake a pie people! – it’s National Pie Day!), here’s a little something you might like:

 Freezing Pies and Pie Crusts Timetable

Baked and unbaked pie shells…………3 months
Fruit Pie Fillings……………..……….6 months
Savory Pot Pie Mixtures……………..6 months
Unbaked Pies……………………….. .4 months
Baked Fruit Pies……………….……6-8 months
Baked chiffon pies and lemon meringue pies without meringue topping can be frozen for up to a month.
Also Note: Don’t cut steam vents in top crusts before ready to bake.
Brush top crusts with egg glaze just before baking rather than before freezing.

Read Full Post »

 Thank you all for you kind words and for sharing your own grief with all of us.  I do feel much much better today.  I know now I will have waves of this feeling many, many times over and I just have to roll with it when it comes.  I hope the feelings never completely go away, I realized over this last weekend, that in my grieving I remembered lots of wonderful things I might not have.  So the process, albeit never over, should be welcome rather than dreaded.  From now on, I will have my cry, take my time and move forward as I feel like it.  

Yesterday was a VERY productive day.  I finished not two but THREE aprons!  Good for me!  As soon as the recipient is in possession of said aprons, I will proudly post pictures!  I am so excited! I think they turned out adorable.  Today I will get more aprons cut out and started.  And then start back to my cleaning project that I must confess has gone rather badly.  But now that my chin is up again, I can get back with it.  When I told Husband I would have it finished by the time he returned on Valentine’s Day I didnt know how close I might have to cut that deadline!  I think he was so excited at the prospect, I cannot disappoint him now!   

And if you didn’t see the post, the winner of the Pie Giveaway has been chosen! Congrats! I will be posting pictures a bit later.

My dear, dear (sometimes neglected, I am ashamed to say) friend Kim sent me this recipe. I can tell you they are amazingly good. Read the email from her containing the recipe, got right up and made them! And yes, use the mini muffin tins, they are just bite size! And I will be posting this on my other blogs as well!

Paris Puffins

1/3 c. soft Shortening
½ c. Sugar
1 egg
1 ½ c. Flour
1 ½ t. baking powder
½ t. salt
¼ t. nutmeg
½ c. Milk
1/3 c. butter, melted
½ c. Sugar
1 t. cinnamon

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 12 muffins cups (these are best to me, baked in mini muffin tins.) Mix shortening, sugar, and egg. Mix dry ingredients in separate bowl and add to sugar mixture alternately with milk. Bake 25 minutes. Combine cinnamon and sugar. When cool enough to handle, roll muffins in melted butter and cinnamon sugar mixture.
These little mini muffins are not too sweet and taste divine with a good hot tea sweetened, and a bit of cream!

Read Full Post »

Giveaway Winner

The winner of this special giveaway…

piegive.jpg

Read Full Post »