Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 10th, 2008

Click here!

Here you go! The only real difference is I used my crockpot this time. Still prepared it just as if it was going in the oven. It smells so good! Even had some carrots left in the garden to add to the pot.

Read Full Post »

Lots of things actually. I have a roast (actually two small roasts) in the crockpot for our supper. Husband will be rolling in about supper time and we have to register Ben for basketball this evening so we need to greet, eat and get out the door. I am doing my best to clean up my shoppe and organize my fabric collection. Obsession, collection? Is there much difference?? I need to get to sewing first of next week.

I am going to whip up a dessert, if I have all the ingredients I am going to make:

Apple Blueberry Slump

Preheat oven to 400.
1lb baking apples
1 TBSP butter
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)
3 TBSP brown sugar
9 oz tub mascarpone
  (this is what sold me on this recipe – can’t be bad if it has mascarpone!)

For the slump:
3 TBSP butter, cut into pieces
1 cup self-rising flour]
2 TBSP brown sugar
1 lemon, zest only, finely grated
1/2 cup milk or half & half

Have ready a buttered 9″ square baking dish. Peel, core and thinly slice the apples. Heat the butter in a frying pan, add the apples and fry the apple slices, turning occasionally for 3-4 minutes until just starting to soften.. Pour into the baking dish along with the blueberries and sugar, and mix lightly. Set aside.

Rub the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles fine crumbs, stir in the sugar and lemon zest. Make a well in the center of the dry mix and add the milk, lightly mixing to form a soft mixture. Spoon blobs of mascarpone (I know you will be tempted ~ but do not EAT the mascarpone out of the container, do as the recipe instructs!) over the surface of the fruit, then spoon the slump mixture over the mascarpone and bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes, until the topping is risen and forms a golden craggy crust. Leave to cool for 5-10 minutes before serving.

If not…well, I will come up with something.

I am pretty much getting excited about this giveaway coming up.  I want sooo bad to give you a run down on what’s in the box but…I also want it to be a surprise!  Because…lots of cool PIE things!

Read Full Post »